You Can Change

If you’re looking for a great book to read this summer, you can check out a previous post with the kerdos staff recommendations.  One of the books on the list is You Can Change, by Tim Chester.  Just about everything he writes has been helpful to me in some way or another.  He has clearly soaked himself in the Bible and been helped by other Christian thinkers.  If you’re wanting help fighting sin (who doesn’t) and want to learn to grow in a gospel-centered, faith-filled, promise-trusting, God-glorifying way, I would highly encourage you to get this book.

Our friend, Dane Ortlund, recently asked Tim some questions about this book and how to grow from the gospel.  In answer to the question, “Whats the big idea of You Can Change?”, he responded:

I think what I’m trying to do is to show how change takes place through faith. I want to move people away from just focus on behaviour because if we focus on behaviour then our efforts to change will always tend toward legalism. Instead I want to focus on the heart because where our hearts lead, our emotions and behaviour will follow.

But I want to make these ideas practical for people. I guess the basic idea is this. Behind every sin is a lie. We believe that sin offers more than God. So the key to change is recognizing that God is bigger and better than anything sin offers. That’s not easy or straightforward. It’s a day by day challenge to look to God, to find hope and help and satisfaction in him.

In some ways I tried to write the antidote to self-help books in the form of a self-help book!

You may have noticed from the way he spells ‘behaviour’ that he isn’t from around here.  You can read the rest of the interview here and buy the book here.

This entry was posted in Book Recommendations. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Can Change

  1. Erica Neal says:

    Hello! I am a student at Arizona State University and I love Jesus Christ with my whole heart. I am an intern at my church (Hope Christian Church) out in Arizona but am originally from Morris, IL (about an hour away from you guys) and home for the summer. I have been looking for a church that has a college-aged group that operates similarly to the one I attend in Arizona and am interested in going to one of your Bible studies. I unfortunately wasn’t able to make it this Sunday at 9, but if you guys meet at any other time during the week please let me know, I’d love to come. Lol I don’t have a lot of Christian friends at home and would love some fellowship this summer! You can either just post a follow-up comment or look me up on facebook (http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=769303553) to share any information about your group!

    Also, I was looking at your church’s website, what does the Sunday night worship look like? Lol, if I go will it be all 1st-6th graders?! Haha, I would leave an awkward first impression like that! Anyway, I look forward to hearing from you.. Your ministry seems to really serve God while having fun! =]

  2. Drew Hunter says:

    Hi Erica. Glad to hear from you. I’ll contact you with more information.

Leave a Reply

