The Busy Sluggard

A couple weeks ago in the College & 20s Group at Grace Church, we heard Proverbs’ words about slackers. Proverbs 12:11 surprised me: “Whoever works his land will have plenty of bread, but he who follows worthless pursuits lacks sense.” This is either the lazy slacker or one of his closest friends. The key idea is that he follows “worthless pursuits”. Thus, the sluggard isn’t always inactive. He is pursuing things, but they’re worthless. He’s using his energy, but he’s wasting his time. Many of us probably identified with C. J. Mahaney:

Lazy? Not me. I’m busy. Up early, up late. My schedule is filled from beginning to end. I love what I do and I love getting stuff done. I attack a daily to-do list with the same intensity I play basketball. Me lazy? I don’t think so!  Or at least I didn’t think so. That is, until I read about the difference between busyness and fruitfulness, and realized just how often my busyness was an expression of laziness, not diligence… The realization that I could be simultaneously busy and lazy, that I could be a hectic sluggard, that my busyness was no immunity from laziness, became a life-altering and work-altering insight. What I learned is that: Busyness does not mean I am diligent. Busyness does not mean I am faithful. Busyness does not mean I am fruitful.

The sluggard can be busy – busy neglecting the most important work, and busy knowing out a to-do list filled with tasks of secondary importance.” So, laziness isn’t just inactivity. It is activity in the wrong direction. It is being active about the easiest things rather than the best things.

This quote came from a series of bog posts that were turned into a 36 page booklet.You can download it here: “Biblical Productivity.”

List of posts:

  1. Are You Busy?
  2. Confessions of a Busy Procrastinator
  3. The Procrastinator Within
  4. Just Do It
  5. In All Thy Ways
  6. The Sluggard
  7. Time. Redeemed.
  8. Roles, Goals, Scheduling
  9. Roles (Part 1)
  10. Roles (Part 2)
  11. Goals (Part 1)
  12. Goals (Part 2)
  13. Goals (Part 3)
  14. Goals (Part 4)
  15. Scheduling the Unexpected
  16. The To-Do Lists Are Never Done
  17. Self-Sufficient
This entry was posted in Book Recommendations, Proverbs, Quotes, Sunday Morning Follow-Up. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Busy Sluggard

  1. Rossely Amarante says:

    Thanks for posting, I was greatly blessed by this booklet!!

Leave a Reply

