The Treasure of Friendship

CS Lewis

Friendship is the greatest of worldly goods. Certainly to me it is the chief happiness of life. If I had to give a piece of advice to a young man about a place to live, I think I should say, ‘sacrifice almost everything to live where you can be near your friends.’ I know I am very fortunate in that respect…

 [Friendship] causes perhaps half of all the happiness in the world

 Tim Keller

Adam was not lonely because he was imperfect, but because he was perfect. The ache for friendship is the one longing that is not because of sin…. This is one ache that is part of his perfection… God made us in such a way that we cannot enjoy paradise without friends.

 Gregory of Nazianzus

If anyone were to ask me, “What is the best thing in life?”, I would answer, “Friends”

 Aelred of Rievaulx

In human affairs nothing more sacred is striven for, nothing more useful is sought after, nothing more difficult is discovered, nothing more sweet experience, and nothing more profitable possessed. For friendship bears fruit in this life and the next

Esther Burr (Jonathan Edwards’ daughter)

Nothing is more refreshing to the soul (except communication with God himself), than the company and society of a friend.

J C Ryle

This world is full of sorrow because it is full of sin. It is a dark place. It is a lonely place. It is a disappointing place. The brightest sunbeam in it is a friend. Friendship halves our troubles and doubles our joys

John Stott (especially until 1:15)

Jesus Christ

Greater love has no one than this, that someone lays down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command you. No longer do I call you servants… I have called you friends (John 15:13-15)

This entry was posted in Audio and Video. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

