Wisdom

Wondering what to care about in life? Ask someone who has walked with Christ for a few more decades than you have. Here’s an example to consider:

The longer I live, the more I care about fewer things, and it’s good.  Here are those fewer things:

1.  God is patient.  “. . . the riches of his kindness and forbearance and patience” (Romans 2:4).  Where would I be now, if God were not patient with me?

2.  My wife is my most precious earthly treasure.  “An excellent wife is the crown of her husband” (Proverbs 12:4).  And how I delight in my family!

3.  Everything man-made will fail.  But it’s okay.  Everything God-made will last.  “God’s firm foundation stands” (2 Timothy 2:19).

4.  Gospel doctrine creates a gospel culture.  “If God so loved us, we also ought to love one another” (1 John 4:11).  When the gospel gets through, our relationships become beautiful.

5.  I will die in just a few years.  What matters now is lifting up a bold new generation for Christ.  “I endure everything for the sake of the elect” (2 Timothy 2:10).

6.  God visits weakness with power, suffering with blessing, setbacks with progress.  “My grace is sufficient for you” (2 Corinthians 12:9).

7.  The Bible is my oxygen.  “The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and life” (John 6:63).  How could I live a single day in this world of illusion without God’s inerrant Word?

8.  The grace of God is the endless resource for everything I face.  “Be strengthened by the grace that is in Christ Jesus” (2 Timothy 2:1).

9.  The highest truth is God’s mercy for the undeserving.  “God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us” (Romans 5:8).  It’s all I want to talk about.

10.  Whatever else I lose, I must keep my own walk with the Lord.  “But for me, it is good to be near God” (Psalm 73:28).

Philippians 3:17: “Brothers, join in imitating me, and keep your eyes on those who walk according to the example you have in us.”

This entry was posted in Ray Ortlund Jr, The Life of Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

