Why Read the Bible Every Day?

Here’s the conclusion to an excellent, short post by Dane Ortlund about the importance of daily Bible reading.

“And bear in mind that you’ll be dead soon. Will you come to the winter of your life and wish you had checked your mutual funds more often? Or slept in more? Or read more blog posts? Probably not.

But we will not regret one moment of time spent in the Bible. Make it your lifelong friend. Invest. Built it into your life. Become deeper, a more solid human being, over many years of Bible reading.”

He gives 6 of the most important reasons to read the Bible every day. It helps us

  1. Calm down
  2. Tank up
  3. Get wisdom
  4. Go deep
  5. Get busy, and
  6. Commune with God

Read the explanations of each reason here.

This entry was posted in Bible Reading, The Life of Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Read the Bible Every Day?

  1. Charles McKinney says:

    Similar words were spoken to me as a boy by my pastor shortly after I became a Christian. He shared a verse with me that I shall never forget. In fact, it was one of the first verses I memorized. It sealed in my mind how important reading and memorizing Scripture is when you make it a vital part of your life–every day of your life. Though I memorized this verse in the KJV, here it is in the ESV: “Your words were found, and I ate them, and your words became to me a joy and the delight of my heart, for I am called by your name, O Lord, God of hosts” (Jer 15:16).
    Hopefully, may Christians of our era heed the wise words of encouragement offered by Dane Ortland in the quote above.

Leave a Reply

